Schadenfreude

Splurt, Squash, Squeeze | March 14, 2006

The re-awakened Phil Sim is being even more excellent than he was before his blog burnout, and has made the frontpages of both reddit and tech.memeorandum during the time I continued his hiatus and took a blogging vacation myself.

Unless you’re not already aware, his blog Squash is mandatory input for anyone who’s interested in the general topic of internet businesses, Web 2.0, technology et al. His views are well-balanced, which isn’t to say about certain other high-profile bloggers.

This isn’t much of a blog entry, but it’s my way of getting the ball rolling. I’ve always struggled motivating myself to blog, but I wanna keep it up. I think one of the problems is that I haven’t really found a niche. This blog didn’t start out with the slogan “facetious Web 2.0 remarks” – in fact, I wasn’t into the whole internet technology/business scene at all before I created this blog. I’ve been a games writer for several years; that’s still sorta my place on the internet. I’ve lost interested in the games industry over the past few years, though, so induldging in more business-oriented fora has been quite refreshing.

Thing is, I’ve got loads of ideas and aspirations and enthusiasm about blogging that I hope to turn into profitable projects some time. I just wish I knew a little more about webdesign/publishing, had a lot more time on my hands and had less social obligations.

Then again, is it healthy to blog with an agenda? Should/does/will profitable blogs come from people whose sole motivation is love for the subject at hand? Have blogs come so far that they could be considered small businesses, big enough to be our main source of revenue? Is the blogoweb open for blogs that are created from a money-oriented standpoint with profit as a superior target?

Will you look at that. A rant that ends up with some interesting questions.


Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

