Schadenfreude

The Muhammed Cartoons | February 4, 2006

Muhammed/Mohammed Muhammed/Mohammed

Yay, freedom of speech!

I will not have rebels burn my proud Norwegian flag, threatening us with violence unless we submit to their absolutely unjustified reaction to something they saw as offensive. I have no intention of undermining or deliberately provoking the regular muslim, but rather wish to take a stand against the improper response given by these seemingly large bad-tempered masses unjustifiably and unacceptably threatening with violence as a repercussion.


Posted in Cunts, Debate, Politics

2 Comments »

  1. As one individual to another, I just had to comment.
    I don’t think anyone really appreciates how it makes someone feel to see a mainstream paper malign that which they hold dear.

    OK, maybe the reaction is over the top, but insensitivity to Muslims is so over the top. It seems like it’s OK to make comments and generalizations aimed against those who practice Islam.

    I make fun of everything. But I don’t believe in kicking people when they’re down. I might just burn a danish myself- Maybe a prune danish.

    Comment by phranq — February 4, 2006 @ 10:11 pm

  2. Insensitivity to all muslims should of course be considered offensive, but it’s pretty clear that this post I made (along with 30-40 other Norwegian political blogs I know of) is directed solely against the rebels and the ones who’ve taken inappropriate (re)actions (just hearing news about setting fire to our embassies).

    I may come across as a bit crude, but it’s mostly an instrument to take a stand against those few who set other muslims and the muslim religion in a bad light. I’ll be the first one to speek up against generalizing a whole group of people – generalizing is not my intent at all

    This post was a very spontaneous response, I’ll admit, and actually I’m a little bit on the fence about it. I read the following passage on The Times Online earlier today which I thought put it quite well:

    “Difficult as it may seem to the West to see cartoons of Muhammad as being outrageous and unacceptable, it is obvious that the Islamic world also has limits of public taste. It’s just that these happen to be different to those of the West. The principle is not, therefore, about freedom of speech, but of the right of cultures to defend a common idea of public acceptability: a right which we clearly share and should respect.”

    Comment by Haarball — February 5, 2006 @ 1:47 am


Leave a Reply

